Thank You

First thoughts in the morning?

I need coffee…
Who emailed me…
I don’t want to go to work, get out of bed…
What am I supposed to do today….
Why did I say that, do that yesterday…

This is just a simple encouragement to instead begin the day with gratitude.  Something to try on…which I’m also trying when I wake up in the morning.  I find it gives me space and joy, lets me breathe for a moment, and shifts the direction of my day.  It doesn’t have to be decorative or come with meditation, candles, incense, etc…or even words.  And if you can’t think of anything to be thankful for, it’s very powerful to just start with yourself…anything about yourself.  (All the resistant voices will fade with time.)  This simple action sets a dynamic in motion to which the world can respond.

The world responds to all the thoughts we have, just like Newton’s third law of physics–for every action there is an equal and opposite reaction.  With the ‘action’ of gratitude, the world becomes a place that is abundant, generous, giving, fair.  This is not an attempt to deny what is there or put on rose-colored glasses.  It’s a shift in perspective, a change of heart.  I can relate to this as an artist.  As I’m inside a process, a whole piece or experience can change by looking at one small detail…letting that expand into a larger awareness, maybe just by turning it in a slightly different direction.  It’s incredible!

So this is a daily experiment to try.  I’m ready for it.  The other attempts of drudgery, scarcity, burden, and lacking haven’t worked so why not?  It’s already starting to feel better.  Thank you.

Leave a Reply

