Performance and Grief – TBA Festival: Portland, OR

Emotion = Grief
Traditional Chinese Medicine function of Grief = Letting go

While preparing to perform “And Lose the Name of Action” last night with Miguel Gutierrez and the Powerful People, I realized how grief is such a big of part of our work. Letting go of what is other than ‘right now’ during a performance brought up a sense of loss. Grieving what might be, what isn’t now, my imagination and fantasy, and being left with only what is right in front of me or right inside of me. I did grieve for a moment–grief as the functional emotion for letting go. And then another door for possibility opened.

‘Relieve me from the bondage of self’

Leave a Reply

